Home Gaming How To Delete a Discord Server

How To Delete a Discord Server

by Harriet Wetton

Discord is a branded communications program intended for generating communities stretching from gamers to education and businesses and works for anything. These servers are private invite-only communities in which people communicate through diverse topic-based “channels”. You may need to learn how to delete a discord server as consuming a lot of time on discord servers might be diverting you from other important ingredients of your life.

What is discord

Discord is a group-chatting communication software initially made to give gamers an environment to build communities and talk, but which has since its origin become a general use stage for all sorts of communities all over the internet from writers to artists.

Discord is broken up into servers, each having its members, topics, rules, and channels. Discord also lets users voice- and video-chat, besides Livestream games and other programs from their computers.

At an elementary level, Discord is built to let you and other members message each other. Each community is termed a “server.”

Servers are full of text channels, where you write to talk to other persons and voice channels, where you voice-chat with others. You upload videos, images, internet links, music, and more.

Each community or server has several channels, each of which is devoted to a different topic or has different rules.

For example, you might have one channel to chat about a video game, and another for adult chatting, and another for pictures of pets. The options are endless.

Forming your server and joining other servers is free.  There are thousands of various discord servers, each loyal to a different topic. Whatever your interest there is a good chance you can find a Discord server for it.

This is especially valid for video games, which form the bulk of Discord’s most popular communities. To find new servers you can google or you can use a discord search engine but here all servers are not shown, only the most popular ones.

To enhance your experience, you can also connect to YouTube and Spotify through discord. Both desktop and mobile versions of the platform are available, you can use it no matter which device you’re using, even while you’re gaming.

The option to upgrade to Discord Nitro is also available, which includes features like higher video quality, server boosting, a higher upload limit, enhanced quality live streaming.

Disruptive use

Discord faced problems with hostile behavior and abuse within chats, some communities of chat servers were “raided” by other communities. The servers were flooded with provocative topics related to race, religion, politics, and pornography. Discord has plans to implement changes that would “rid the platform of the issue”. 

In an alarming situation like this when things get out of hand one must know how to delete a discord server to safeguard the public sentiments

To well protect its users and its services from such events, Discord has instigated a trust and safety team that is on call around the clock to monitor the servers and respond to reports.

Why choose discord

Discord is the top chatting platforms currently in use, exceeding older software such as TeamSpeak or Skype.

When you opt for discord Nitro you can get premium perks. In other available Apps in the market, you cannot add more than 100 users unless you get one of the paid plans. Discord has no such limits you can add countless people without paying a cent.

In other apps there are storage restriction, they have a limited backup of up to 10.000 messages, while discord provides a backup of full messages without any charges

Discord may be seen as a stage for gamers to communicate, but its capabilities are far much more than that. It may have been developed with gamers in mind, but it has far more features along with the free value.

Discord offers instantaneously 100 servers at once other Apps are heavier than discord on the CPU.

In other Apps, there is no end-end encryption which means they can read your messages.

All your messages are stored on their central server which means your messages can be made public.  Discord values accountability with privacy. If you type an unwanted message, you are free to erase it and it goes off the servers.

How to delete a discord server

If you don’t know  how to delete a Discord server that you created, you are in for a surprise. The process is really simple and can be accomplished in less than a minute.

First enabled two-factor authentication, to get it done you will need to know your six-digit “auth code”. Find this by opening the Authy or Google Authenticator app on your mobile device.

With your “auth code”, here is how to delete a Discord server, using either the desktop app for Mac and PC or the mobile app for iPhone and Android devices.

How to delete a discord server via the desktop app

Step – 1: Start Discord on your Mac or PC and select the server you wish to delete.

Step – 2: Click the server name, situated in the top-left corner of the screen.

Step – 3: A dropdown menu will appear from it select “Server Settings”

Step – 4:   In the left sidebar click the red “Delete Server” option.

Step – 5: In the pop-up enter the server name’s name exactly, it will appear at the top of the pop-up, or if you have two-factor authorization enabled, enter your six-digit authentication code.

Step – 6: Click “Click server”

If you don’t want to keep the server, but also don’t want to delete it, you can transfer ownership of this server to another user.

To do this:

Step – 1: Again, open your server settings but in the left sidebar instead of selecting “Delete Server” select “Members”

Step – 2: A list of every server member will appear. Find the name of the person that you want to give ownership to, click the three dots that show on the right.

Step – 3: Go for “Transfer Ownership.”

How to delete a discord server via the mobile app

Step – 1: Open Discord on your iPhone or Android device and go to the server you want to delete.

Step – 2: Swipe right and open the side menu, and select the server’s name at the top of the screen.

Step – 3: In the pop-up that appears, click the setting icon on the right.

Step – 4: Select “Overview.”

Step – 5: At the bottom of the “Overview” page, opt for “Delete Server.”

Step – 6: You’ll be asked if you want to delete the server. Press “Yes” to confirm. If you have two-factor authentication installed, you need to enter the auth code found in your Authy or Google Authenticator app.

Related Articles

1 comment

How to Screenshare On Discord Server - Willing To Do July 13, 2020 - 5:02 am

[…] to screenshare on discord server with everyone, share your screen with Go Live with everyone in the Discord server, and do the following […]

Reply

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More